Welcome! The Inaugural Post.

Kiki and Papa. No one could ask for finer (or cuter!) grandparents.

My late grandmother, “Kiki,” is my inspiration here.  A consummate lady, she knew how to do everything well and gracefully.  Many’s the time a friend has called to ask how to get out a wine stain, address a wedding invitation, or make the best use of a good cotton ball — my store of Kiki-based wisdom has always come to the rescue.  As one ever-so-clever friend put it when we were contemplating how to get a wad of gum off my denim-clad derrière,

“What would Kiki do?”

From here on, I will regularly share “Tips & Tricks for Better Living” in brief posts.  (As in takes-30-seconds-or-fewer-to-read brief.  Just so you know.)  I hope they will help make your life easier and more enjoyable in some small fashion. I’d love to say I’ll post daily, but let’s be realistic.

[Male readers who may fear that the information herein will confine itself to topics appropriate for sewing circles, coffee klatches, and/or confabs in front of ladies’ room mirrors: have no fear.  There will be good stuff for you too.]

A writer, teacher, coach, style junkie, and inveterate collector of non-revenue-producing knowledge, I’ve accrued enough tips, tricks, and trivia to last three lifetimes.  How I know all this stuff remains a mystery, lost somewhere in the mists of my first awareness of Kiki’s endless excellence.  Friends have encouraged me to share this information for years, and I’m finally heeding the call.  A teacher must teach, I suppose.  Though this blog will focus mainly on “Tips & Tricks for Better Living,” don’t be surprised if other, seemingly random reflections sneak in — I inherited my grandmother’s boundless curiosity and penchant for sharing information of all stripes.  Call it the “Kiki Effect.”  If you must.

The fine print:  I am not a doctor, lawyer, accountant, astronaut, or member of any other profession that requires a degree other than the Master’s in English I currently and unjustly-low-income-earningly possess.  Any information, advice, tips, tricks, or other marginalia that I offer is based on what I’ve seen, heard, read, or done as an amateur, so to speak.  I never offer things that haven’t worked for me or someone I can rely upon, but (perhaps obviously) you follow my advice, and this blog, at your own risk.  Now, let’s get back to having fun, shall we?

My hope is that the answers to What Would Kiki Do? will be useful, or at least mildly entertaining.  If you’ve gotten this far, dear reader, I thank you most sincerely.  [insert shameless plea for subscriptions & comments here]
And away we go!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kerry on July 21, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Look forward to reading about tips, tricks and any other information you have up your sleeve. Remember, useless knowledge is not useless when you need an ice-breaker!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Laura on July 22, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Good timing, Kate! My finger just started swelling up from a spider bite. WWKD?

    Reply

  3. eek — not a fan of all things arachnoid!! my suggestion would be to put either benadryl (or other antihistamine) cream or hydrocortisone cream on it. if it’s getting really bad, take an antihistamine like benadryl. dammit jim, i ain’t no doctor, but this has worked for me. let me know how it goes!

    Reply

  4. …i meant take an oral antihistamine like benadryl, perhaps obviously…? if it keeps swelling, seek medical attention, pronto!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jean Marie Randolph on August 14, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    I can’ wait to hear some of the things that I learned from “Aunt Eleanor”. She was my inspiration for so many things. I loved her so much. So elegant, so confident so wonderful! She always made me feel so special. Great memories!!! JMR

    Reply

Leave a Reply

